About The Ministry of Mines, Energy & Rural Electrification

The Ministry of Mines, Energy & Rural Electrification (MME&RE) is a key Government Ministry responsible for developing the minerals sector, petroleum, energy, water resources and rural electrification.

The Ministry issues licenses for exploration and exploitation of identified tenements as well as for hydrocarbon commercial development. They are also responsible for State Owned Enterprises (SOEs), namely Solomon Power and Solomon Water.

Minister for Mines, Energy & Rural Electrification

Hon. Bradley Tovosia

Welcome to The Ministry of Mines, Energy & Rural Electrification.

Our Mission is to develop the natural renewable and non-renewable resources sustainably for the social and economic advancement of the people of the Solomon Islands.

Our Services

Ministry services include:

  • Undertake an assessment of the current regulatory systems with anticipated recommendations for improvement.
  • Undertake reviews of certain Acts/Legislation and associated regulations in close collaboration with the Attorney Generals Chamber and other line Ministries.
  • Implement National Mineral Policies, Energy Policy, and other policies applicable under mandated function of the ministry.
  • Develop a computerized mining registry and data system.
  • Actively encourage co-operation between investors and resource owners to facilitate the sustainable exploration and harvesting of minerals and hydrocarbon resources in the country.
  • Develop clear, sound and predictable licensing criteria with clear penalties for breaches and ensure that a license can only be granted after access, lease, environmental impact assessment, social study, rehabilitation and mining agreements have been fully signed.
  • Explore and develop mechanisms to increase the financial rewards accruing to resource owners from large mineral and hydrocarbon extractive developments.

To achieve its mission, the Ministry delivers services through its five (5) Divisions.

Divisions and Departments

The Ministry of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification (MME&RE) has the following Divisions and Departments under its umbrella. You will find quick information about each and their contact details if required.

Geological Survey Division

The Geological Survey Division is responsible for the Geological Mapping Section, Publication, GeoChemical Laboratory, Seismological Section, Petrological Section and GIS.

Mines Division

The Mines Division is responsible for the Tenement Section, Inspectorate Section and Economic Geology Section.

Water Resources Division

The Water Resources Division is responsible for the Directorate Office, Hydrological Unit and Drilling Section.

Petroleum Division

The Petroleum Division is responsible for the Directorate Office and Petroleum Section.

Energy Division

The Energy Division is responsible for the Ozone Unit, Energy Efficiency and Conservation, Renewable Energy, Petroleum and Power Unit.

Express Directory

Here you will find the direct contact details for relevant staff at The Ministry of Mines, Energy and Rural Electrification (MME&RE). Please feel free to get in touch should you have any queries you wish to discuss.

Main Office (+677) 21522
Minister (+677) 21522
Permanent Secretary (+677) 21522
Under Secretary (+677) 21522 EXT 226
Human Resources Manager (+677) 21522 EXT 226
Principal Admin Officer (+677) 21522 EXT 233
EPS (+677) 21522
Mines Division (+677) 21522
Geological Survey Division (+677) 21522
Water Resources Division (+677) 21522
Petroleum Division (+677) 21522
Energy Division (+677) 21522
Driver (+677) 21522
Senior Admin (+677) 21522 EXT 233
Financial Controller (+677) 21522 229
Senior Accountant  (+677) 21522 EXT 227


If you’re in the Solomon Islands and wish to visit us, our office location is provided below for your convenience. We look forward to welcoming you.

Physical Address
Ministry of Mines, Energy & Rural Electrification
Lengakiki Road, West Honiara,
Honiara, Solomon Islands.
Mailing Address
P.O. Box G37, Honiara,
Solomon Islands.
Translate »